A hundred years ago, the original Baldwin and Engleside Hotels were Beach Haven's grand oceanside resorts.A hundred years ago, the original Baldwin and Engleside Hotels were Beach Haven's grand oceanside resorts.The Hotel Baldwin. Built in 1883, the massive Victorian structure met its demise in a raging inferno in 1960.The Engleside.Strolling the boardwalk in Beach Haven was an essential part of any day on the beach until the hurricane of 1944 washed the walkway into history.Barnegat Lighthouse, Long Beach Island's best known landmark, rises high above LBI's northern tip.With a burst of steam and a resounding whistle, the Tuckerton Railroad brought visitors to Long Beach Island from 1886 until 1935 when the railroad bridge washed away in a nor'easter.If no one answers the phone, Surf's Up! and Al's out for a paddle.Crafts at the Marketplace, 9th Street, Beach Haven. Stop and see us when you're on the Island!The original Beach Haven Yacht Club stood near the end of Dock Road when catboats ruled the bay.Until 1886, Dock Road was the central artery to the heart of Beach Haven. Visitors and supplies arrived by boat, and horse-drawn coaches made their way up the dirt lane.The lightkeeper's house: built in 1889, it succumbed to erosion within 30 years. A dense fog determined the fortune of the Fortuna, shipwrecked in January 1910 on the beach at Ship Bottom.Timeless: the surf fisherman's quest.Here comes the sun!The Boulevard runs the length of Long Beach Island. Auto traffic across the bay commenced when the first causeway bridge opened in 1914.